In my darkest moments, one particular poem came to me by accident. I was scrolling around Youtube and realised that I have created a suggested content list because I was stuck in one particular arena and I wanted to widen the topics a little. I then changed my channel to another one that I use for different reasons and I suddenly saw an entire host of new topics and channels that I haven’t seen before.

One of these channels was from a lady called Dee and her channel is called Dee On Life, or something to that effect. I didn’t subscribe, because I think in any other period of my life, I would not spend too much time on her content, but that particular moment, her one video had over 5k likes, so I decided to see what was behind the sweet face in the thumbnail.

She was reading the following poem:

I think the words speak for themselves. I can sit here and analyse the contents and how it relates to me, but I am not going to waste anyone’s time. I strongly suspect that just the poem will be powerful enough for anyone who needs to hear it today.

As a matter of interest, the ‘them’ in the poem might be more than you think at first glance. Life has taught me that it could be your own children who walk out of your life. It could be your sibling. It could be you walking out on someone and how this scenario looks from the other side. It could also be just because at a certain age people become more selective in who they define as ‘friends’ or ‘close’ people in their lives. It has a million varieties and still the words will find your ear and your heart.

I also feel this way about my sentiments. Some things (objects, items that hold a lot of memory, etc) also choose to leave your life. Let them too. I lost almost all the jewellery I was given by my husband over a period of almost 30 years – items that were irreplaceable both because they held memories and because they were individual items that were never created more than once. I felt a tremendous loss when that happened, but I have replaced most of those pieces now with new ones that hold their own new memories and it seems as if a burden has rolled off my shoulders. I am grateful when things want to leave my life in order for me to travel lighter.

I have also lost pets. I have also lost qualities in my personality that didn’t serve me. I can mention numerous things that have gone from my life – it is not always people, although people somehow hurt the most if you are not prepared for their departures.

In this poem, I have found so much solace. I am forever grateful to the poet who penned this down – thank you, Cassie Phillips, you saved me.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started